Sml Grain Adj Bare Is 1aBW Vert 27 Feb 2016 (1 of 1)Hi All,

Well something a bit different this week, a vertical Black & White!

Most Sydneysiders should recognise this spot which really is the southern end of the Eastern Suburbs of Sydney and the bit of water you can see is Botany Bay.

Jean-Francois Laperouse landed around here on 26 January 1788, yes that date does look familiar doesn’t it?

He was a couple of days behind Arthur Phillip who had already headed off to Port Jackson or Sydney Harbour as it is now known as.

The island you can see is called bare Island as was named as such in 1770 by James Cook when he entered the bay as it was a small “Bare Isaldn”.

The buildings you can see were built as a military fort which was completed in 1885 but didn’t remain in use long due to poor construction.

There wasn’t much colour around the day of the shoot and I wanted something different so I actually shot close to the ground to really get the grain of the rock.

I must thank my wife for the actual framing of the shot as I was struggling with it, and am really happy with the end result.

Anyway, enough from me, enjoy!

Paul

 

