Hi All, 

For this weeks shoot, the call came out that we were going to shoot the milky way at this old house at Rouse Hill, and “it should be awesome”.

I think someone forgot to tell Mother Nature as there was a heap of cloud as you can see plus the light pollution from the new estate behind this old house didn’t help either.

But it did do something in that whilst we couldn’t shoot the milky way due to the cloud, we could use the conditions to our advantage.

So what we ended up doing was light painting the house in a similar way to Brayshaws Hut in the ACT in July last year.

The link to that shoot is here:

So we started shooting and we were quite happy with what we could see on the back screens of our camera’s but we were also light painting the house more and more for longer as well.

We should not have bothered as it looks like our screens were throwing a big lie at us and the first light painting was the best as it was the weakest. The others were just too strong and looked all wrong.

Still, I can’t complain with what I got given it was after midnight and we were a long way from home.

I mentioned earlier that there is a new housing estate behind the house. We were hoping that the house was not going to get demolished because of the estate.

One of our group lives locally and apparently it will be restored, which I hope it does and I bet it could tell a few good stories!

This will be the last blog for a couple of weeks as I will be away from the computer a bit and unable to do anything on my phone!

Anyway, enough from me………enjoy!

Paul