Hi All,

This week’s image is another one from my recent trip out to the Central West and this spot was planned and definitely didn’t disappoint.

I had been out here the day before but the fog had well and truly lifted, so it was a case of being out here at sunrise to make the most of the predicted fog. To be fair, there wasn’t much fog when I arrived but I had driven through a lot of it to get to here.

Shooting really started out literally in the carpark and then the fog got too thick to actually see anything! That was my cue to start walking and having the handy National Park map, it was an easy mainly flat walk around the foreshore.

One of the things with the swamp is that there are alot of reeds and there was a lot of red in them. Not sure why that is and maybe it was just due to the time of year that I was there.

In any event, I soon ended up at Platypus Point which, unlike the name, I didn’t see any platypus at all.

It is a great little spot as you can shoot many different angles there and that is where this week’s shot was taken.

I was right out on the point shooting in a different direction and noticed this shot and noticed the duck as well.

A quick change of lens and a heap of fog gave me this shot. I think the duck just add’s a little something to it.

Dunns Swamp, to me, isn’t really a swamp as it has a dam wall and was built to supply water to the Kandos Cement Works in the 1920’s. Still, it sure does look like one now though.

It is part of the Cudegong River and it was flowing very nicely around the district when I was there.

The aboriginal meaning is Ganguddy, which apparently means “Good Place’, which it certainly is.

One of the other features of this little area are all of the rock pagoda’s that are there and can be climbed for those willing to try. They are about as high as a two story building. I didn’t try as I know I would fall off somehow!

Still, it’s a great place and I definitely want to go, even if it is just to walk the tracks around the foreshore again.

2024 Calendars

I do have enough orders now and thank you so much to those that have ordered.

Over half of the calendars have been sold already and I have sent the artwork off to the printer, so hopefully I should have the first proof by the end of this week.

You can still order a calendar if you haven’t already, so get in touch!

Anyway, that’s enough from me………enjoy!

Paul