Hi All,

I know we are a few weeks into winter but I hadn’t had a chance to put out a blog about the autumn trees.

Autumn trees around Sydney are hard to get shots of, mainly as you need lots of them together and you hope they all change colour at the same time as well. It doesn’t really happen in Sydney where you can do that where you also have clean lines with no cars etc in the shot.

There are some obvious places in the Blue Mountains like Mount Wilson and Blackheath but these spots are very popular, so I went to a back road that I knew about in Wentworth Falls.

I have actually known about this spot for quite some time but just never had the chance to shoot them in Autumn. Being a fair distance from my place, you are always taking a gamble whether the colour is there or not. I think with this image, they are a week or so past their best, but are still very acceptable.

This was a fun shoot as one of us would act as a lookout whilst the other one got their shots. I did say it was a back road but it can get busy, so a lookout was a given.

With this shot I knew I would have to use a different lens to what I do normally so I took a small telephoto lens with me.

One thing I had not anticipated was where I was going to stand to get the shot. I just thought, pull up, set up and shoot. That wasn’t the case. It was a case of pull up, set up and then start walking down the road towards and under the trees to get “the shot”.

To me, “the shot” was to get the trees right through the image. I think I achieved that.

Anyway, enough from me……….enjoy!

Paul